WIDNES Vikings paid the price for Kenny Baker's yellow card in a 30-18 home loss to Sheffield Eagles.

When Edwards left the field for a high tackle on Josh Guzdek, Vikings were leading 12-10 but they had fallen 10 points behind by the time they were back to 13 men.

And they eventually succumbed to a second home loss on the trot.

Widnes opened the scoring in the 11th minute when Danny Craven broke through the Sheffield defence and Steve Tyrer added the extras.

Eagles responded when Ryan Johnson swooped on a loose pass and sped over from 30 metres and then got their noses in front when Vikings made a hash of a kick return, allowing the visitors to spin the ball wide for Ben Jones-Bishop to dive over in the corner.

But the hosts finished the half on top thanks to Jake Spedding crossing for a try improved by Tyrer.

Sheffield's Kris Welham was sent to the sin-bin late in the half but Vikings were unable to take advantage of their depleted numbers in the way that Sheffield were able to when Baker was shown his yellow card early in the second half.

Fristly, Liam Kirk powered over to put Sheffield back in front and then fellow prop Brandon Douglas went over from close range as the visitors moved into a 22-12 lead.

Guzdek widened the gap with two penalty shots on target but Widnes were not about to give up as Olly Davies angled his way over from Joe Lyon's pass to keep Vikings in the hunt at 24-18.

But Sheffield still had another score up their sleeve to settle matters.

It came as Vikings kept the ball moving in order to find a way through for an equalising score but when they lost possession Matty Chimes pounced, broke away and handed over to Tom Holmes to complete Sheffield's win.

Vikings: Matt Fleming, Ryan Ince, Jack Spedding, Ste Tyrer, Joe Edge, Danny Craven, Matty Smith, Callum Field, Matty Fozard, Owen Farnworth, Sam Wilde, Olly Davies, Liam Bent. Subs: Joe Lyons, Will Tilleke, Kenny Baker, Eribe Doro.

Eagles: Josh Guzdek, Ben Jones-Bishop, Kris Welham, Ryan Johnson, Matty Chimes, Tom Holmes, Anthony Thackeray, Brandon Douglas, Vila Halafihi, Tyler Dickinson, Connor Bower, Joel Farrell, Michael Wood. Subs: Blake Broadbent, Liam Kirk, Uili Liu, Ross Oakes.