FIVE candidates will be competing for your vote in Halton on December 12.

Labour’s Derek Twigg has represented Halton since 1997 and is seeking re-election in the seat, which covers Widnes and most of Runcorn, but faces challenges from the Conservatives, Liberal Democrats and the Brexit Party.

He has a strong majority of more than 25,000 votes, but in a Leave-voting constituency could see that eaten away by the challenge of the Brexit Party.

All nominations have now closed, and the following people are confirmed as candidates for December's General Election:

  • Jan Balfe – Brexit Party
  • Steve Gribbon – Liberal Democrat
  • David O’Keefe – Green
  • Charles Rowley – Conservative
  • Derek Twigg – Labour

The polls will open at 7am on December 12 and close at 10pm, with the result expected to be announced that night or early the next morning.