SCHOOLS from Widnes and Runcorn are among those shortlisted for this year's Educate Awards.

Our Lady of Perpetual Succour Primary School and Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy will find out if they are winners during a ceremony at Liverpool's Anglican Cathedral on Friday, November 15.

Our Lady of Perpetual Succour in Widnes is up for the Innovative and Creative Literacy Award after derived an innovative curriculum after realising pupils love to combine outdoor learning, PE, music, drama with literacy.

Teachers at the school created 'Fizzy Grammar' - fizzy being a play on the word physical - and rolled out a number of successful kinaesthetic activities in order to raise attainment and engagement.

Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy in Runcorn is shortlisted for The Communication Award after its science department proved that social media can be an innovative learning tool.

Staff use Instagram as a place to share photos and videos to accepted followers and allows for a safe space for the science team to show what they are doing on a daily basis as well as a revision tool to engage and drive pupils.

From inspiring teachers, dedicated support staff to innovative projects across the curriculum, the awards recognises the work of schools and colleges which are delivering outstanding education and helping students achieve their full potential.

The awards, in partnership with Copyrite Systems and Ricoh, is in its eighth year and is the largest education awards in the North West.

Kim O'Brien, founder of the Educate Awards, said: "Congratulations to Our Lady of Perpetual Succour Primary School and Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy for being shortlisted for the Educate Awards 2019!

"Every year, the judges' job gets harder as the entries from schools get better.

"Whether it is the arts, careers, sport or their commitment to mental health and wellbeing, we aim to recognise all areas of education and shine a spotlight on all the hard work that goes on in schools and colleges each academic year.

"We look forward celebrating with all the finalists and winners on the 15 November."

The full 2019 shortlist is as follows:

The Communication Award

  • Alsop High School, Liverpool
  • Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy, Runcorn
  • Whalley Range High School, Manchester

Eco School Project of the Year

  • All Saints Catholic Primary School, Liverpool
  • Bedford Primary School, Bootle
  • Evelyn Community Primary School, Knowsley
  • Heswall Primary School, Wirral

Spirit of Enterprise Award

  • Halewood Church of England Primary School, Knowsley
  • St Damian’s RC Science College, Tameside
  • St Oswald’s CE Primary School, Sefton

Innovative and Creative Literacy Award

  • Middlefield Community Primary School, Liverpool
  • Parish Church of England Primary School, St Helens
  • Our Lady of Perpetual Succour Primary School, Widnes

SEND Provision Award

  • Abbot’s Lea School, Liverpool
  • Rainford High, St Helens
  • Plantation Primary School, Knowsley
  • The Barlow RC High School, Manchester

STEM Project of the Year

  • Cardinal Langley School, Manchester
  • Gateacre School, Liverpool
  • Landgate School, Wigan

Outstanding Arts in a Primary School

  • Bedford Primary School, Sefton
  • Lister Junior School, Liverpool
  • Riverside Primary School, Wirral

Outstanding Arts in a Secondary School

  • Hillside High School, Sefton
  • St Julie’s Catholic High School, Liverpool
  • The Belvedere Academy, Liverpool
  • Wirral Grammar Boys and Wirral Grammar Girls, Wirral

Career Aspiration Award

  • Abbot’s Lea School, Liverpool
  • Archbishop Blanch School, Liverpool
  • St Wilfrid’s Church of England Primary School, Wigan
  • St Bede’s Catholic High School, Ormskirk

Community Partnership Award

  • Chorlton High School, Chorlton
  • Gateacre School, Liverpool
  • Haydock High School, Haydock
  • Whitefield Primary School, Liverpool

Mental Health & Wellbeing Award

  • Bickerstaffe Primary School, West Lancashire
  • Calderstones School, Liverpool
  • Formby High School, Sefton
  • Northwood Community Primary School, Knowsley
  • South Deeside Primary School Federation
  • St Mary’s and St Thomas C of E Primary School, St Helens

Innovation in Education Award

  • St Vincent’s School for Sensory Impairment, Liverpool
  • St Teresa of Lisiuex Catholic Primary School, Liverpool
  • Whitefield Primary School, Liverpool

Outstanding Commitment to Sport in a Primary School

  • Halewood Church of England Primary School, Knowsley
  • Plantation Primary School, Knowsley
  • St Mary’s RC Primary School, Manchester
  • The Belvedere Preparatory School, Liverpool

Outstanding Commitment to Sport in a Secondary School

  • Cowley International School, St Helens
  • Rainford High, St Helens
  • Formby High School, Sefton
  • Ridgeway High School, Wirral

Leadership Team of the Year

  • Wright Robinson College, Manchester
  • St Peter’s CE Primary School, Farnworth
  • Knowsley Lane Primary School, Knowsley

Teacher of the Year

  • Adam Sirett, The Barlow RC High School, Manchester
  • Dr Carly Brooke, Liverpool Life Sciences UTC, Liverpool
  • Paul Edwards, Cowley College, St Helens
  • Stephen Hill, St Joseph’s RC Primary School, Oldham

School Support Star of the Year

  • Elizabeth Clarke, Kings Leadership Academy, Liverpool
  • Katherine Lockley, St Thomas CE Primary School, Sefton
  • Kim Corrigan, Middlefield Community Primary School, Liverpool
  • Wendy Davenport, The Oldham Academy North, Oldham

Most Inspirational 16-18 Education Provider

  • Archbishop Blanch School, Liverpool
  • Carmel College, St Helens
  • Robbie Fowler Education and Football Academy, Liverpool

Most Inspirational Secondary School

  • The Academy of St Francis of Assisi, Liverpool
  • Gateacre School, Liverpool
  • The Hollins, Accrington

Most Inspirational Primary School

  • Alexandra Park Primary School, Stockport
  • Eldon Primary School, Preston
  • Netherton Moss Primary School, Sefton
  • Valewood Primary School, Sefton

Wow Recognition Award

  • Chorlton High School, Manchester
  • Kirkby High School, Knowsley
  • Liverpool Life Science UTC
  • The Hollins, Accrington