A TEAM of detectives from Runcorn has been honoured for their work investigating a range of serious and complex cases.

Over the last 12 months, Runcorn Beat Initiative Team has overseen local issues, county-wide cases and national crimes, including a nationwide investigation into a rogue trader which resulted in a minimum four-year prison sentence.

The team has been praised for their proactive policing and relationship building skills, which have combated a multitude of local and cross-border crimes.

Their successful prosecutions include a rogue trader who stole more than £30,000 targeting vulnerable and elderly people and the arrest and conviction of a county lines drug team operating in Runcorn.

The officers were named as Cheshire Police's Team of the Year at the constabulary's Achieving Cheshire Excellence (ACE) Awards, which were held at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel.

The ACE Awards are the constabulary’s highest accolades that can be awarded to an individual or team that has gone the extra mile or demonstrated exceptional commitment to policing in Cheshire.

The team consists of Detective Constables Chris Gill, Ciara Murphy and Calvin Fletcher and Police Constables Dawn Taylor and Stuart Beswick.

Receiving the award on behalf of the team, Detective Sergeant Rob McCloughin said: "It's fantastic to win this award and it epitomises the hard work that has been put in by the team all year.

"There's some other great teams across the Constabulary so we're really honoured to have won this award.

"It's been a really busy 12-months with some fantastic investigations including rogue traders and county lines, so there's multiple highlights and lots of great work from the whole team."

Chief Constable Darren Martland said: "I'm extremely proud of the fantastic work our officers, staff and volunteers do each and every day to help keep Cheshire safe.

"It is important that we dedicate an opportunity like the Ace Awards to celebrate some of this work and hear the inspirational stories which have led to this year's nominations.

"We have some truly outstanding people at Cheshire Constabulary and I would like to personally congratulate all those who were nominated by their colleagues.

"They all deserve this recognition for their dedicated service to both the constabulary and the communities of Cheshire."

David Keane, police and crime commissioner for Cheshire, said: "The ACE Awards provide us with an opportunity to celebrate the incredible achievements of Cheshire Constabulary's talented officers, staff and volunteers and I am incredibly proud of the work that each and every member of the force carries out round the clock to protect local residents.

"A huge congratulations to all of those who have been recognised at this year's awards.

"Once again, we have heard some inspirational stories of bravery, commitment and going the extra mile to keep Cheshire residents safe."

The full list of this year's ACE Awards is, as follows:

  • Community engagement: PCSOs Paul Barker and Moira McCue
  • Services to the Public: PCSO Emma Darroch
  • Working in partnership: PCSO Ross Norman
  • Creativity and innovation, sponsored by Saab – Sergeant Rob Simpson
  • Inspirational leadership: Detective chief inspector Myra Ball
  • Volunteer of the year: Alison Weston
  • Special constable of year: Special Sergeant Michael Harrison
  • PCSO of the year: Lizzie Jolley
  • Police staff of the year: Julie Cradock
  • Police officer of the year: PC Nick Anderton
  • Team of the Year: Runcorn Beat Initiative Team