THE board of the Rugby Football League have granted RFL membership to the Widnes consortium who agreed a deal to take over the club with the administrators earlier this week.

The RFL therefore expects Widnes' Betfred Championship fixture against Featherstone Rovers to go ahead on Sunday.

A 12-point penalty has been applied, effective immediately.

Three players - Krisnan Inu, Wellington Albert and Adam Tangata have left the club.

A staatement from Widnes Vikings read: "On Friday afternoon, the Vikings were ecstatic to be told that the takeover has been given the green light by the game’s governing body.

"As revealed last night, the names of the people involved in the consortium are Chris Price, Jason Shaw, Roger Harrison MBE, Stuart Murphy, David Dean, Tracey Glendinning, and Rod Steele. Full details of each individual will be released in due course, with supporters being able to get to know the club’s new owners in more detail. 

"With the takeover being granted, the Vikings can confirm that the club will incur a 12-point penalty in the 2019 Betfred Championship season, effective immediately. This means that the club will now sit on -8 points. 

"After receiving the approval for the consortium takeover, Sunday’s fixture against Featherstone Rovers will go ahead as planned. The club will reveal ticket details for this fixture very shortly.

As a result of the takeover, Widnes Vikings can confirm the departures from the club following the takeover.

"The Vikings can firstly confirm that first team players Adam Tangata, Krisnan Inu and Wellington Albert have all left the club."