RUNCORN Rotary Club has welcomed a new president.

Tony Rudder was installed at a ceremony in Runcorn Town Hall and takes over from outgoing president Rosalind Gregory.

This had been the 71st year of this international service organising serving the local community.

Mr Rudder will be assisted by president elect Ken Tonge during the forthcoming year.

More than 36 rotarians and guests attended the function.

The mayor of Halton Cllr John Bradshaw was awarded honorary membership during his term of office.

Rotarians Karen Tonge MBE, Eddie Gregory and Derek Pearson were awarded a Paul Harris Fellow which recognises individuals who have made a significant contribution to the organisation.

Lillie Mai-Scott, one of the Rotary young musicians who qualified to the district finals played her flute accompanied by her music teacher from Ormiston Bollingbroke Academy Catherine Cathcart.

Anyone interested in joining Runcorn Rotary can contact the club at