Vikings name squad, Wolves add to theirs

Runcorn and Widnes World: Vikings name squad, Wolves add to theirs Vikings name squad, Wolves add to theirs

WIDNES Vikings have named their squad for today’s festive friendly and Warrington Wolves have added to theirs.

There are a number of potential debutants in the named Vikings squad, including new signings Liam Carberry, Paul Johnson and Danny Tickle.

Hooker or loose forward Carberry has been brought in from Wigan, while prop Johnson and second rower Tickle have joined from Hull.

Vikings’ squad also includes youngsters Kieran Butterworth, Ed Chamberlain, Ted Chaplehow and Matthew Whitley alongside some established names like Kevin Brown, Paddy Flynn, Willie Isa, Ben Kavanagh, Joe Mellor and Jack Owens.

Winger Owens crossed twice and Warringtonian scrum half Mellor was man of the match when Vikings completed their famous Super League double over Wolves at The Halliwell Jones Stadium earlier this year.

Widnes Vikings also have two trialists in the squad, Luke Menzies and Liam Hulme.

Twenty-two year old Hulme, the son of former Widnes and Warrington back rower Paul, was on Warrington’s books before being released to Swinton Lions for the 2013 Championship campaign.

Menzies, aged 25, is a prop who plied his trade with Hunslet Hawks this year.

Meanwhile, hooker Andy Ackers, who turned 20 on Christmas Day, has Tweeted that he is set to make his first-team debut for Wolves in the 3pm kick off at the Select Security Stadium.

Tickets will be available from the stadium today.

Prices: Standard Adult £15, Concession £12, Junior £8. Concessions are aged 65 and over and full time students (ID required when purchasing). Juniors are up to 16 (in full time education).

Vikings squad: Kevin Brown, Kieran Butterworth, Liam Carberry, Ed Chamberlain, Ted Chapelhow, Danny Craven, Chris Dean, Paddy Flynn, Alex Gerrard, Tom Gilmore, Liam Hulme, Willie Isa, Paul Johnson, Phil Joseph, Ben Kavanagh, Macgraff Leuluai, Stefan Marsh, Joe Mellor, Luke Menzies, Jack Owens, Danny Tickle, Matthew Whitley.

Wolves squad: Andy Ackers, Ryan Atkins, Chris Bridge, Danny Bridge, Jordan Burke, Ben Currie, Brad Dwyer, Anthony England, Rhys Evans, James Laithwaite, Joel Monaghan, Gareth O’Brien, Gene Ormsby, Kevin Penny, Joe Philbin, Glenn Riley, Matty Russell, James Saltonstall, Ryan Shaw, Tom Walker, Trent Waterhouse.


Comments are closed on this article.


Get Adobe Flash player
About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree