PRINCESS Diana is continuing to inspire Runcorn children.

Pupils at Brookvale Primary School have received the Diana Anti-Bullying Champion Award for the eighth year running.

The 16 ‘Brookvale Buddies’ give up their free time to help and support their peers.

The award recognises young people who make an outstanding and selfless contribution to their school, demonstrating qualities of compassion and commitment associated with the late Princess Diana.

Their mentor Julia Shutt said: “They are a credit to themselves and the school. We are delighted they have received this award.”

Head teacher Paula Casey said she is very proud of her pupils.

The year six buddies include Rebeca Crowe, Tamin Buyuktepe, Leah Houghton, Olivia Ogden, Molly Roberts, Dominique Costello, Matthew Maloney, Oliver Healey, Connor Wilson, Milly Ward, Jodie Reid, Jodie Seddon, Haylie Edwards, Elizabeth Terry, Paige Turnbull and Amber McLoughlin.

Halton Councillors Tom and Angela McInerney, special friends of the school, presented their awards.