Halton's young people go to the polls

Countdown to Halton's UK Youth Parliament election

Countdown to Halton's UK Youth Parliament election

First published in Runcorn and Widnes World: Photograph of the Author by , Chief Reporter

THE winner of Halton’s UK Youth Parliament election will be announced at 5pm on Friday, June 13.

Young people aged 11 to 18 at schools and youth clubs across Runcorn and Widnes have been voting for a successor to Jacob Lea Brown, who steps down after his 19th birthday.

The seven candidates standing for election are Emily Hall, Jade Dabber, Jessica Marriott and Matthew Walker from Runcorn and Amy Clarke, Deanna Johnson and Rhiannon Moss from Widnes.

Ballots close on Thursday, June 12 and the results will be revealed at CRMZ youth centre in Kingsway, Widnes.

The winner will represent Halton’s young people at the House of Commons in November when the UK Youth Parliament meets to debate, discuss and choose its annual campaign topics.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree